LAMMAS/the August collection: The Start

Welcome to my mini-series of LAMMAS/the August collection. If you haven’t read the first “episodes” please do so, and then join in on the journey.

Now it’s time to start this project for real. I have the yarn. I have the inspiration. Just let the creativity flow!

Or, is it really that easy? How do you start?

My process usually starts in my head. You that have followed me know that I get motivated by finding out clever constructions. I can have a garment in mind that I think needs to be created, but then the construction starts.

I want to make a construction that enables me to write a recipe. That means that it must be easy and intuitive to make the garment in any size you need, without swatching and counting. I also want to avoid seaming and unnecessary picking up stitches or any other finishing. I want the knitting to be a pleasant experience, and I want the garment to wearable and versatile.

First prototype

So I have the inspiration from the story about Tuvstarr. Now I need to decide on a texture that works with the inspiration och garment, and I want it to be a simple but still interesting texture-pattern. Easy to memorise, motivating to knit.

I was early thinking of a basket. To me it symbolise to carry, to hold, to keep safe, to bring with you. And since Tuvstarr lost her things, heart and mind she would have needed a basket.

So I wanted to use basket-knitting, but maybe not for the whole garment. Rather I will play with this texture-pattern as a reference. The vertical and horizontal lines gives a lot of options.

What I also want to incorporate is details that are simple but gives an intricate and polished look.

So, that is what I will share right now. As you can see I have started, but can you see what that is and what it ill become? ⭐️💫

3 thoughts on “LAMMAS/the August collection: The Start

  1. laura in iceland

    oh! i came to your website to go through the mitten recipe (my sister needs pink ones for her birthday), and saw your new posting here! the textured stitch pattern looks AMAZING in that glowing yellow — bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mmgymboaolcom

    Long ago when I picked up my needles again the first garment I knit was a basket weave scarf. I love that combo because of the beauty and the flow of knits and purls and it really does look like a basket. I cant wait to see what you come up with. I love the color so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment