LAMMAS/the August collection: The Difficulties

Welcome to my mini-series of LAMMAS/the August collection. If you haven’t read the first “episodes” please do so, and then join in on the journey.

Designing is often one step forward and three steps back. I don’t let that get to me. On the opposite, I think that’s an important part of my design-process. It’s often from these set-backs I come up with the best solutions.

At first I was quite happy with the start of the garment (that’s a pocket by the way), but when it came to binding off for the pocket I didn’t really get it right. So I started over again, and also changed the construction. And then I wasn’t happy with how the increases were placed, som I started over again. And then it was something else that didn’t turned out the way I wanted so I started a new version.

Starting over and over again…

I started to second guess my decision to join this challenge. It’s difficult to design “on demand”. Will this be a design that someone will knit and wear? Is all this work for nothing? Will I even like it?

I guess that this “jenka dance”, with one step forward, two step back and three steps in a new direction, will continue. I have many design elements ahead where the right solutions is needed to be found. I can’t wait to get there.

This is why I love designing in Nutiden. Well, it can be challenging to unravel with unspun yarn, but since it’s so easy to start and stop and that you don’t have to weave in any ends it totally makes up for that. It’s like sculpting with clay. You just add and remove as you create the garment, and the yarn works with you.

However, despite these step-backs I love knitting with MasGULin. The colour is really growing on me. Maybe that’s why I want the design to make it justice. And with this colour you can’t hide any flaws.

Now I will go on vacation so you will probably have to wait an extra week or three for the next post. But by then I will hopefully have made some progress that I can show you. ⭐️💫

6 thoughts on “LAMMAS/the August collection: The Difficulties

  1. Lieve Verhelst

    A pocket that is a good idea!
    It sounds hard, to do it over and over again and it is right you will learn a lot, but it sounds hard and 🫤🤨😖😓 maybe😡 all these feelings 🤯.
    Well, I admire your perseverance.
    When I was reading I had a little thought, maybe it can be felted like your oven mitts, I liked that a lot, and maybe it works for a pocket also.
    Let the thoughts go for a while now and maybe the right solution comes just because you let go.
    Have a nice and relaxed vacation!
    Warm regards from a fan of you
    Lieve

    Liked by 1 person

  2. laura in iceland

    i know how much i second-guess myself just while following a pattern, so imagine it must get overwhelming at times when designing! but also so glad that you keep at it, as the designs you come up with are both elegant and so functional. enjoy your vacation and come back feeling refreshed and reinvigorated!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is! It’s like working with clay, so responsive. As a potter, I always preferred designing with function in mind. So often my solutions came from “what will make the piece work best for the user?” The aesthetics then naturally evolved. Oh, how I loved the sensitivity of the clay even though it always revealed any misstep, which, now that i think of it, often were what gave the piece its humble beauty. The ultimate sophistication, no?
    Wishing you well.
    Janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment